Nature can be very powerful. Dial any 212 number and ask whoever picks up. They’ll say the same thing.

But, for me, today, nature was grand and genteel. Around noon I grabbed my laptop, got some bottled water, an orange and peppered beef jerky, and drove up to the Mt. Bonnell lookout. I hadn’t been there in a while. It’s still a perfect place. The sun was high, but there was a steady breeze. The water of Lake Austin was this great, fantastic carpet of gossamer blue. I set myself up in the shade of a tree on a big white rock and performed my tasks over this splendid oasis. And as I worked, I wondered why it is we hole ourselves up in cubicles in poorly ventilated offices for most of our waking hours. On days like today, it’s criminal to spend all that time at a desk, tap-tap-tapping away on a keyboard. Losing time. Losing life.

It’s one of the perks of being the kind of writer I’m aiming to be — it can be done from any place. From a bistro in Paris. From a bungalow in Nairobi. From the tippy tippy top of Pike’s Peak or the base of the Grand Canyon.

The thought of all that thrills me so.

Yeah, there was no longer any choice. Continuing to be cooped was simply not an option. Not when there are places like Mt. Bonnell.

Til tomorrow!

